COMMUNITY: Local dance group presented with awards at Leyton Orient

access_time 4 years ago

‘The Spirit of Leadership’ for exemplary leadership was also awarded to Curnisha Jules, Nashay Neufville Charles, Freya Thomas Knott and Emie Emin. Maria Theodoulou, Founder of Leaders Community; Trevor Duberry, Head of Neighbourhoods at Leyton Orient Trust; and Douglas Mohammed, Community Manager at Peabody Housing, presented the certificates to the group.

Leyton Orient Trust, in partnership with Peabody Housing, funded the qualification for 20 young people in the Summer of 2017. This entailed the participants spending 150 hours of their spare time to work towards the award. Following this qualification they will now be able to facilitate other young people to participate in dance activities.

Leyton Orient Trust used the discretionary funding grant awarded by Premier League Kicks, one of the Premier League’s flagship community programmes, to enable this project to take place.

Maria Theodoulou, Founder of Leaders Community said “With the continuous support received from Leyton Orient Trust, Leaders community are able to engage through dance with children and young people as an alternative physical activity for those who are not generally motivated by sports.”

Trevor Duberry, Head of Neighbourhoods, Leyton Orient Trust said, “It’s great that we are able to use our funding from Premier League Kicks programme to work with Leaders Community to deliver dance lessons and most recently the Dance Leadership qualifications. Through the provision of regular physical activity through dance, it’s a great way to bridge the gap for young people who are not traditional sports enthusiasts.”

Students who achieved Level 1 Dance Leadership:

  • Emie Emin
  • Donike Kidd Turner
  • Christina Grant
  • Arsene Bireza
  • Caris Smith
  • Sienna Hill
  • Curnisha Jules
  • Nashay Neufville
  • Hannah Jumaleh
  • Freya Thomas Knott
  • Kyra Patterson
  • Anais Mitchell
  • Zizi Kotyo
  • Zoe Kotyo
  • Nathan Leon
  • Amelia Ohare
  • Tiana James
  • Talia Dunbar
  • Doneeka Streadwick
  • Jaydon Fisher